First time flashing BIOS

Kenshin112

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2009
Ok guys, my motherboard is a Biostar TA790GX A2+

If it weren't for me buying an AM3 CPU, i wouldn't bother flashing, but i really need an upgrade from my nearly 3 year old 5600+ x2.

Anyways, I've never done this before but I have the link for the download for the updated BIOS on biostar's site. I have a flash drive that i think would work for booting with the file(s) but idk. My computer is really iffy when it comes to using USB stuff in Bios. I have to always use a PS/2 keyboard and my USB keyboard won't work despite USB devices being enabled in the BIOS (if you guys could help me fix this problem that would be awesome, too!)

But much more importantly, if someone could tell me how to flash my BIOS to support AM3, which these boards are capable of doing according of biostar, it would be a great help to me. I have absolutely no idea how to do this and anything is appreciated.

BTW i'm upgrading to a Phenom II X3 720 if that's of any significance. Thanks a lot in advance.

grieve

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2004
You don't happen to have a $4 floppy drive laying around which you could connect just for the flash do you?
I doubt the flash drive will be recognized.

Well I have no experience with your board, but for mine it shows you what it detects before it trieds to flash, so you might as well put the BIOS on the drive and see if it shows up (read your MB manual for specifics).

marco324

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2006
BIO-Flasher

Effortlessly update BIOS from a USB flash disk before entering your OS.
BIO-FLASHER is a convenient BIOS update tool. Just launch this tool and put the BIOS on USB Pen Driver before entering the OS. You can update your BIOS only in a few clicks without preparing an additional floppy diskette or other complicated flash utility.

BIO-ReLife