Budget (light) gaming computer w/ plans for upgrades - <$400

shayan

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2007
Hi,

I'm looking to upgrade my 5-year old P4 system (it's dying) with something cheap and somewhat upgradable, as I'm on a very tight budget right now. Currently, I'm a full-time student with not a lot of free time, so I generally use my computer for music, watching movies, etc., though I do play World of Warcraft regularly and plan to play games with higher hardware requirements when I get some money to spend (which will be not any sooner than Fall 09, I think).

So I was looking at IGP solutions, as I've heard good things about the 790GX chipset and I think that will be enough to play World of Warcraft @ 1200x1024.

Like I said, I do plan to upgrade my system later in the year with a better processor (looking at the Deneb Phenom II) and better video card. Here are the components I've picked:

SAMSUNG HD642JJ 640GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive (Bare Drive) - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822152134

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231122

Antec earthwatts EA500 500W Continuous Power ATX12V v2.0 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371007

Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129042

BIOSTAR TFORCE TA790GX 128M AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138130

AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma 2.7GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Dual-Core black edition Processor - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103300