Intel Pentium 4 550 (3.4 GHz LGA775) overclocking help needed!

chaoscreater

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2008
Hi guys, first of all I know how to overclock graphics cards, but have no experience and no idea how to overclock the CPU or Memory, I only know it has to do with multipliers and dividers, and that you might have to raise voltages sometimes but I don't understand how they work, even though I've read plenty of guides.......I'm not really good at this and prefer easy softwares to do it such as ClockGen (I've used it once to overclock my CPU slightly), as I don't want to mess around with the BIOS since I'm not experienced enough. Of course, I don't mind if someone guides me on what to change in my BIOS.

Ok so with the intro out of the way, here're my setups:

Intel Pentium 4 550 3.4GHz
ASRock G41M-GS3 motherboard
Corsair Value Select DDR3 PC10600/1333MHz CL9 2GB
Geforce 8800GT 512MB

Now, this is a very old HTPC so please don't ask me why I still have a Pentium 4 lol. Anyway from what I know, Pentium 4 CPUs are locked, therefore the only way to overclock is to mess around with the FSB or something?? I've been doing some research on how to overclock it but couldn't find much, either that or people have only been able to overclock it by 10% which is really little......I was hoping if someone can give me a guide on what to do?

Also, my 2nd question relates to the first as well, if you would please download this manual for my motherboard:

http://europe.asrock.com/manual/G41M-GS3.pdf

and if you look at page 19 on "Overclocking Setting", it tells you the different types of jumper configurations that you need to use depending on what you want to overclock to. I don't understand it completely, the only thing I know is that my Pentium 4 has a 800Mhz FSB, refer to here:

http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=27469

and that my 2GB Corsair is 1333Mhz......so does that mean I must adjust the jumper to adopt the FSB1333?