Power Supply doesnt have -5V, Does motherboard need?

seidleroni

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2009
Hi Everyone,

i'm building my own PC for the very first time, however I am an Electrical Engineer so I do have some knowledge about some things. I am using the PPCS500 power supply, and the Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L motherboard. I turn the system on and the power supply doesnt seem to boot and nothing else seems to turn on. The switch on the front case is activating when pressed (checked with multimeter) and appears to be going to right place.

I disconnected power to all peripherals except motherboard where its connected to the ATX connector (2x12) and 4 pins on the 8 pins of the power connector (according to the manual from the power supply).

One 'Aha!' that I noticed is that the power supply does NOT have a -5V rail, but it looks like the motherboard expects it. Could that be why my system is not turning on?

I guess i"m a little confused because I chose teh same components as the "Toms Hardware $625 gaming build" from recently and somehow they got it to work. Oversight on their part? Any other ideas?

seidleroni

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2009

There is no power switch on the back of the system. There's a label that says "Full Range 100-240 VAC" so it appears that it automatically switches. If you mean the ON/OFF switch on the power supply, then yes, I have it set to "1" to have it on.

Any other suggestions I can try?

MY GA-EP35-DS3P works just fine without the -5 volts from the PSU. I also have an eVGA 680i board that doesn't need -5 volts.

OK. Try this checklist:
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-build-post-checklist

If that doesn't help:
Pull everything except the CPU and HSF. Boot. You should hear a series of long single beeps indicating memory problems. Silence here indicates, in probable order, a bad PSU, motherboard, or CPU - or a bad installation where something is shorting and shutting down the PSU.