Question about HP pavilion Elite e9180t motherboard.

kill-switch

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2009
I've been doing search for the motherboard I have which I been told as "TRUCKEE-UL8E" from the HP tech support. For some reason, I can't find too much informations on this and I am completely lost. The HP tech support I was talking to wasn't able to tell me what cases it was compatible with (ATX, micro ATX, etc.). I was looking into buying a tower case called thermaltake armor+ full tower case and I am not sure if this motherboard called TRUCKEE-UL8E will fit on the tower case.

This is the computer that I have. Processor is intel core i7 920 LGA 1366.

Also, I'm wondering if this is a decent motherboard? I am working on building my first high-end gaming PC and since I'm still new to this field, I have been getting lost often. If it isn't decent, is there any type of motherboard I should look for? Thank you for reading.

Apparently "Pegatron" ( http://www.pegatroncorp.com/company/whoWeAre.php ) is the manufacturer of your mobo. They appear to be a Taiwan-based company that designs and manufactures parts for other companies.

Whether your motherboard is *physically* an ATX or mATX, it would fit in any standard ATX case. But there's no way to tell - and HP sure won't - except to compare the size, shape, slots, holes with another ATX mobo and case.

Worse, the mobo could have non-standard power connections and/or case connectors. So even if it fit physically in an ATX case, it may not mate happily with an ATX psu or case.

You may find some info on HP forums in between all the bitching about this mobo and other stuff.

I'm confused - tell me more about what you are wanting to build. You have a relatively new i920 PC . . . what are you trying to do?

kill-switch

Distinguished
Sep 4, 2009
Thank you for the reply everyone. I understand that it's micro ATX now.