Solidworks/Gaming PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

gtN1

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2009
So I'm planning a computer build within the next few months (this summer hopefully), and I had a question concerning GPUs. This PC is going to be used primarily for school work with an emphasis on gaming. Since I'm also an engineering student, I want something that can handle Solidworks, AutoCAD, etc. From what I've read, the card I was considering, the ATI HD4850, isn't recommended for Solidowrks or other Modeling software. So if I choose to get the Radeon, will I still be able to run Solidworks effectively and play kick-ass games on the same PC? Any help/recommendations will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Vokofpolisiekar

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2006
You need a workstation graphics card and not a desktop one.

That would be Nvidia Quadro or Ati FireGL cards. You can play games on it, but it won't perform on the levels of a desktop one.

gtN1

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2009
That's what I figured. I don't necessarily need Solidworks to perform at extreme levels, all I really want is a PC that can play games very well but that's also capable of adequately running 3D Modleing software under normal loads (light to medium use). In that case, can an ATI HD4850 offer what I need? Also, CPU-wise, would you guys recommend getting a faster Core2Duo or slower Quad Core (3.0 vs 2.5 GHz)? Thanks a lot for the help so far!

rewindlabs

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2009
Quad cores are the future..very much so when it comes to gaming albeit a oc'd c2d eats most everything atm...

If you wanted a powerful system that would last awhile cpu wise your best off finding a quad that can overclock well...you should be able to handle your 3d modeling apps at the stock speed no problem on the quad core but gaming will love a higher clock speed so you would want to make sure the cpu has head room....