Sign in with
Your question

Will a QX6850 OC 3.5ghz bottleneck 2 HD 4870 x2?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 16, 2009 10:43:45 AM

I've always been curious as to my gaming setup. I'm running a QX6850 OCed to 3.5 ghz on an x38 with dual HD 4870 x2. Will the performance of the graphics card be bottlenecked by the CPU?
April 16, 2009 11:36:28 AM

unless 1 of the cores are being used at 100% during gaming i would say no lol.
April 16, 2009 1:23:30 PM

If you ever notice there's a bottleneck while playing a game using that set up, probably the bottleneck is you.

Just kidding. No you won't be bottlenecked with a quad @ 3.5ghz. But if you are...
Related resources
April 17, 2009 11:41:55 PM

Thanks for the replies. I am new to this word "bottleneck" and its kind of confusing because according to the word, in order to get the full potential of the cards you would need to get a faster cpu. Wouldn't the performance gain be from the CPU? I wouldn't know how to tell.
April 18, 2009 2:06:18 AM

No matter what, unless you can balance absolutely everything, One part of your computer will always bottleneck the rest. But with your CPU I wouldn't worry too much about your 4870 getting bottlenecked.
April 18, 2009 5:54:32 AM

unpunished said:
I've always been curious as to my gaming setup. I'm running a QX6850 OCed to 3.5 ghz on an x38 with dual HD 4870 x2. Will the performance of the graphics card be bottlenecked by the CPU?