Sign in with
Your question
Solved

GA-X48T-DQ6 doesnt boot with 3 or 4 DIMMs.

Last response: in Motherboards
September 10, 2009 1:47:53 AM

Hello,

This is my first time posting, so I will try and be as clear as possible.

I am trying to increase the RAM in my PC from 2GB to 4GB. Sounds simple enough right?

Here are some relevant system specs:
Motherboard: GA-X48T-DQ6 (BIOS F4)
CPU: Intel Core2Duo E8400
Memory: Corsair 2-4GB of TWIN3X2048-1333C9DHX (1333MHz, 9-9-9-24 timings)

I have had 2GB (2x1GB) of Corsair TWIN3X2048-1333C9DHX RAM in my system for a couple of years. Never had any problems.

Purchased another pair of the exact same RAM.

When I put the new pair in, the machine powers on, nothing appears on screen, and within 5-10 seconds, it shuts off completely. If I wait another 10-15 seconds, it tries again, and will continue to do this until I cut the power.

Figuring one of the DIMMs might be defective, I tried adding each DIMM separately, in each of the 2 free slots.
A couple of times it began booting, but either froze at Verifying DMI Pool, or got to the windows login screen and gave a blue screen once I entered my password.
Generally it doesn't even get that far though.

If I simply use the new ram by itself, the machine boots up perfectly, and there is no problem.

I ran MemTest86+ on both pairs of DIMMs separately, and both tests came back with no errors or problems of any kind.
I even tried each pair in all possible combinations of slots on the motherboard, but as long as there are only 2 DIMMs, it seems to boot perfectly (Even if I mix and match one old and one new)

As soon as I add the 3rd, it no longer boots.

I have found several people reporting similar issues when upgrading from 4GB to 8GB (2x2GB to 4x2GB)
Im thinking the board simply has problems handling 3 or 4 DIMMs at once.

I am a little hesitant to start playing with voltages and timings manually, since I am not exactly sure what needs to be changed.