A little advise for a newb please

NickCapolupo

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2010
I just did my first build with the following..

Phenom II x4 965 BE
2 X 2gb Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600
GTX460 (EVGA)
Samsung Spinpoint 1 TB HDD
ASRock 770 Xtreme Mobo
Fatal1ty 550 W PSU
Antec 600 Case (1 back fan, 1 big top fan, 2 front fans)

Im new to overclocking. I dont want to wear the life of my computer down fast, I dont want much extra power. I just see that they have a fairly simple looking menu in BIOS with this CPU and Mobo. It has the option to AutoOC, so I did it just to 5% (the lowest you can autoOC). It sent me to 3570 MHz. Is there anything else I need to do? Did I do any harm to anything? Did it do any good? Im still a little nervous about tweeking volts and whatnot. Does anybody know about this AutoOC stuff? Let me know.

Also, do I have to do something with my memory sticks? I just stuck em in there and powered the thing on. It reads 4GB of memory (says only 3.25 available, is this normal on a brand new build?) Also, it registered as 1333 on some program that shows all your system components) But It says right on the stick its DDR3 1600.. Do I have to manually do something to make my memory work properly? And do I need to do something with it since I overclocked by 5%??

Any advise/pointers would be appreciated. Like I said, Im not looking for a crazy boost in performance. Should I set things back to default or whats your opinion? BTW, computer will be for music, surfing/videos, and starcraft 2

Solution
Check this two links:

1- http://slappablog.wordpress.com/reviewsbenchmarks/phenom-ii-am3-overclocking-essentials-guide/
2- http://slappablog.wordpress.com/2010/10/14/phenom-ii-imc-ram-overclocking-guide/

Will give you a lot of think to understand what is what and what do, with that you can start to overclock your 965.

aberchonbie

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2008