Sign in with
Your question

MSI GTX 460 1GB HAWK talon attack

Last response: in Overclocking
November 29, 2010 6:34:04 PM

Hi,

I am trying to overclock my graphic card but i have never done anything alike before - i have read some OC settings for this card but normally it dose not work the same on everyone.

This is what i have tried (in msi afterburner) and what i get:

Core Voltage (mV) +100 max
Memory Voltage (mV) +100 max
Aux Voltage (mV) +30 max

Core Clock (MHz) 919
Shader Clock (MHz) 1838

Memory Clock (MHz) 2240

Fan Speed (%) 100 max

After the clock i started the MSI Kombustor for stability test and after minute or two something went wrong - the image was not as it should look ( i mean the msi logo - the line that is going out of the letters, why this happens??) - see pic and the temperature went to 60 but because of the image was not alright i revert to stock clock - i am afraid to blow out my graphic card :p  .. please help me drive this card as far as possible without blowing it up :p 

this is my rig:
coolerMaster 750W
Asus p7p55d
i5 760quadCore
2x 2GB Corsair dominator 1600mhz 9C
msi gtx 460 1gb hawk talon attack
WD 1TB caviar black 7200rpm 64mb
OS windows 7 64bit
thanks for helping!
November 30, 2010 4:36:30 PM

Ideally you want to try overclocking in small steps. Also, before raising the voltage at all I'd see what kind of overclock you can attain on stock voltage. As raising the voltage increases heat and generally speaking can lower the lifetime of your hardware. Of course if you are planning to replace the card in a couple years it is probably not much of an issue, but something to consider never the less.

I'd recommend going back to stock voltage and clocks. Then slowly increasing your speeds to find out your ceiling. A successful max overclock takes a good bit of trial and error and a decent amount of time.