Needing an upgrade... Headset/Soundcard

nisallik

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2008
Well, for the last 5 hours I've been trying to decide on a sound card/headset for gaming. Whenever I find a card/headset I am interested in buying, I read a ton of negative feedback about it that makes keeps me looking for another card/headset.

I'm wanting to spend around $200...

No real concern if the headset is 2.1 or 5.1, unless there is really a big difference between them. I've been reading that the quality of 5.1 headsets is less than 2.1. Not sure if that is true or not... but if the 5.1 headsets are actually good, I'll pick those! ;p

Really hoping for a huge improvement since I've been using these old Dell champagne speakers for over 10 years mixed with $15 gaming headsets from Wal-Mart. (Will be upgrading my speakers later)

Kraynor

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2007
http://www.razerzone.com/gaming-audio/
Take your pick :)

Personally, I'm picking up a Megalodon on the 7th when it becomes available in Europe, had a Barracuda for ages and loved it.

I am no expert on sound cards and headsets. But, here are my thoughts anyway:

1) 2.1 vs 5.1. A headset is essentially two speakers. Therefore what advantage is there for a 5+ speaker 5.1 sound card?

2) Does the best headset have the frequency range of a good set of speakers? I don't see how it can in the lower frequencies. Therefore, is the quality of a sound card vs. the integrated HD sound of any value? With today's multi core cpu's the old advantage of lower cpu load is minimal.

My suggestion is to use integrated audio and find the most comfortable headset for you. Go to a store where you can try one on. Spend any savings on a better graphics card.

Is there more to this than I think?

Before we start, note there are 2 major connection types for headsets (As optical connections don't support simultanious input/output, so headsets with a microphone do not use that connection type):