Sign in with
Your question

Installing RAM from one laptop to another?

Last response: in Storage
October 24, 2010 4:11:10 AM

Hi newbie here, Im not sure if i posted this on the right category.

I had my RAM upgraded to 2gb because I wanted to install a game and my laptop had less ram than it required. So I went to the shop, bought a memory module and had it installed. Paid a lot for it if I may add. So anyway, after two months, my laptop broke down (someone smashed the screen) and so my parents gave me a new one. The new one unfortunately has only 1gb of ram. I'm wondering if I could transfer the memory module from the old one to the new one? The old one was a Neo Qnote Emprivia laptop and the new laptop is an Acer aspire 5630.

Can I do it by myself? I think i could remember the repair guy when he fixed my old laptop. He just took the old module out plugged the new module in. or at least thats what i saw. Do i need to do anything else?

Additional Details:

*The memory module i had installed on my old laptop is a "2gb ddr2 pc800 apacer NTB" (that's what it reads in the box)

*The website For acer says My laptop has two slots. Each memory slot can hold DDR2 PC2-5300 with a maximum of 2GB per slot.

im sorry for the ignorace. I hope someone could help me.

More about : installing ram laptop

November 27, 2010 4:40:55 PM

xtiangankaico said:
Hi newbie here, Im not sure if i posted this on the right category.

I had my RAM upgraded to 2gb because I wanted to install a game and my laptop had less ram than it required. So I went to the shop, bought a memory module and had it installed. Paid a lot for it if I may add. So anyway, after two months, my laptop broke down (someone smashed the screen) and so my parents gave me a new one. The new one unfortunately has only 1gb of ram. I'm wondering if I could transfer the memory module from the old one to the new one? The old one was a Neo Qnote Emprivia laptop and the new laptop is an Acer aspire 5630.