SB850 and RAID

teflon2287

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2010
Hello,

I tried to find any info about peoples experience running raid 5 on AMD's SB850 Southbridge. But I was not able to find much online. So I would like to post my experiences...

I have a home server...
* AMD Phenom II 1055T
* Gigabyte GA-M880GA-UD3H
* 2*2 Gig + 2*4 gig Corsair "Value Select" RAM (12 GB Total)
* Running Windows 7 Ultimate (64 bit)

I have been playing with 4x 1.5TB Seagate 7200.11 Drives in RAID 5 (128kb stripe size - the controller only lets me chose between 64 and 128). The array is partitioned using GPT and formatted using NTFS.

Write speeds are between 30 and 60 MB/s averaging about 45 MB/s.
Read Speeds are between 180 and 250 MB/s averaging about 200 MB/s.
CPU usage seems to be minimal for this setup too.

So far I have been quite happy with the performance. I am quite new to running RAID arrays, but I think these numbers are quite good. I can copy across my gigabit network at 118MB/s!!!

I have a couple of questions...
1) Do I need to perform an initialization on a raid 5 array? Because the volume works without it...
2) Do I need to perform regular synchronizations?
3) Is it normal for synchronizations to take 20 to 30 hours for a 4.5TB array?

I am actually thinking of breaking the array and running 2 sets of RAID 0 arrays (3TB each) or a single raid 0 array, since 24/7 uptime isn't important to me, and I would get a nice performance increase, plus I have everything backed up elsewhere anyway...

Any other comments would be welcome....

Thanks

Dan

teflon2287

Distinguished
Oct 5, 2010
Just an update... I broke the raid 5 and tested out various raid 0 arrays...

Using HDTune Pro I got read results of... (min / max / avg / Access time)..
4 Drive RAID0 = 231 / 482 / 384 / 15.6
3 Drive RAID0 = 176 / 375 / 295 / 15.8
2 Drive RAID0 = 120 / 254 / 198 / 15.7
Single Drive = 59 / 129 / 101 / 15.3

Just in case someone else has been looking for info on the raid performance of AMD's SB850....