Controlling fan speed through 4-pin molex?

outsidemyself

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2010
Hey there folks!

So here's the situation. I recently built my first computer using the Thermaltake Armor A90 chassis. It has great cooling; 120mm intake at front, 200mm and 120mm exhaust at top and back. I'm not overclocking, and speedfan shows a System temp of 36C and CPU 43C at idle, which is great am I right? (I'm pretty new to this)

Unfortunately, the 200mm and the front intake fans both only have 4-pin molex connectors, so I can't hook them up to the motherboard to control fan speed (the 120mm exhaust hooks up and is controlled to 600RPM. The mobo has space for another 2 case fan connections). I'm trying to make my computer silent, and seeing as the temps are all a-ok, I figured I could try and slow down the fans a bit. So what are my options with these molex connector fans? I'd idealy like to connect them straight up to the mobo, so that the speed-control occurs automatically.

I've done a bit of browsing, have come up with 3 options:

1. PCI slot speed controller
http://www.techbuy.com.au/p/127376/COOLING_CONTROLLERS/Aywun/PC-SCAI.asp
Although my impression of these is that they if you have a PWM fan, 3 pin connector but don't have the adequate spot on the mobo to plug the connector into.

2. Something like the zalman fan controller
http://www.techbuy.com.au/p/44329/COOLING_CONTROLLERS/Zalman/Fanmate2.asp
Although again, needs a 3-pin connector?

3. A more hefty multi-fan controller with inbuilt sensors, eg NZXT controller
http://www.techbuy.com.au/p/135271/COOLING_CONTROLLERS/NZXT/SE001-00B.asp
Has connections to accomodate 4-pin molex.

My question - am I correct in saying that options 1 and 2 would not work for my situation, and that 3 should work? The NZXT site says it works by varying the voltages to the fan; does this work in altering fan speed through the 4-pin molex? I thought you need PWM to alter fan speed?