Sign in with
Your question

Recent convert to AMD and ATI needs your help

Last response: in Overclocking
December 6, 2010 4:41:22 AM

Hello Tom's Hardware forums!

Google has always brought me here more than not and I feel it's time to join up and start in on this great community. Whenever I have had questions about anything I need PC related, I've always taken the same and heavily repeated statement "Search first, post second" that is on any forum I see. Well today, I am breaking that rule.

I am new to the AMD and ATI universe as I am a recent convert from Intel and nVidia. I have recently acquired the following products through newegg and am now posting from it successfully with no hiccups.

ASRock 870 EXTREME3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Callisto 3.2GHz Socket AM3 80W Dual-Core Desktop Processor
Arctic Silver 5
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory
hec HP585D RETAIL 585W ATX12V PSU

CANNIBALIZED PARTS
---------------------------
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4650
250gb Sata HDD
300gb Sata HDD

Crammed it all in a...

and hooked it to a...

and installed Windows 7 x64.

(I am going to be upgrading to a new card and would love some input on that also.)

Utilized the OCC featured on the motherboard to unlock the other two cores. Currently is an x4 @ 3.2ghz. I remembered that prime95 was a great tool to test overclocking stability. Idle temps are at 34c. After around 10 to 15 mins at full load in prime95, I shut it down even though there are no errors in "Torture Test" with default settings. The reason is that the temps were at 63c. I've read that crit is 70c to 72c. Didn't want to let it get any higher. So, I know that you are going to suggest I do not use a stock fan. But is this normal for what I should be experiencing as a user with the system I have?

Also installed Rocketdock, but had to uninstall due to it crashing my system.