• Heatsinks
  • Cooler Master
  • Celsius
  • Overclocking
  • Product
Last response: in Overclocking
December 7, 2010 3:12:34 AM

Hello everyone,
Recently I got a second fan for push-pull on my Cooler Master Hyper 212 plus. I have an i7-930 OC'ed to 3.5Ghz with 1.13v. This is my first time with push-pull.
Before, my idle temps (for my hottest core) were 37-38 celsius (RealTemp) and now they're 36-37 Celsius. Prime95 used to max at 62 Celsius, but now it's 60 Celsius...

I am feeling a little underwhelmed, should I be getting better temperatures than this, or is this normal for push-pull??? It doesn't seem worth it.....

Can anyone help? Much appreciated :) 

More about : hyper 212 push pull question

a b K Overclocking
December 7, 2010 5:21:42 AM

Hey, I got a Cm hyper 212 + too, well, I bought it and installed another fan right away, but 2 c temps decrease is not excellent but its fine.. @ 3.5 ghz, load is 60, you're good to go..
a b K Overclocking
December 7, 2010 5:52:48 AM

Well I am using a tru, but my temps improved by about 5 C when I put the second fan on. However I think I also changed the orientation at the same time so it may be less...
I wouldn't say the results are unexpected. You've got an excellent cooler and the addition of another fan is showing some benefit. Perhaps it is the type of fan or the fan speed or the CFM's that are having you feeling underwhelmed.
Do you know the particulars of the fan you've added?
Related resources
December 7, 2010 9:44:58 PM

I added a second CM fan to my Hyper 212 and got similar results, about 2-3C drop at full load. It was about what I expected I would get based on reviews. However I did not like the added sound, it created some weird harmonic tone that I do not like so I pulled the second fan back off. Although overall I am pleased with the performance of the 212, I may try my luck with a Thermalright Silver Arrow to see what kind of improvements I can get at 4.0Ghz on my i5.
a b K Overclocking