Sign in with
Your question

Newb buying computer. Would Love some adivse

Last response: in Components
July 4, 2009 11:35:12 PM

Hey guys, I am a complete newb and am going to buy a computer (no time or skill to build). The most intensive things I will do are game, encode/decode video, etc (no 3D rendering or graphics editing stuff). But I will do a LOT of multitask stuff (I run tons of windows and apps at once and my current pc cann't handle this).

Here are the main components I want and the final price. Any comments or advise would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks.

PSU: coolermaster 850 watt real power pro
CPU: i7 950 overclocked to 3.8 GHz
Asetec Liquid cpu cooling (not many options for cooler...Ultra ChillTech Electro Thermal is other option)
Mother Board: Asus P6T Delux V2 Intel X58
RAM: 12GB Corsair Dominator 1600 MHz DDR3
Video Cards: TWO: ATI Radeon HD 4890 1GB DDR5
HDs: 2 150GB velociraptors in RAID 0 ; 1.5 TB 7200
Sound Card: Creative Labs X-FI Xtremegamer
Optical Drive: LG GGW-H20L 6X Internal Super Multi Blue Blu-Ray Disc Rewriter & HD DVD-ROM Drive

Price: 3K

One Big Question: Is there a Need for 300 GB of velociraptor? What are the best programs to put on the fast hard drives?...I am guessing I wouldnt put all my music and videos and minor applications on that. Maybe the video encoding/decoding software, the OS, and games?

Thanks a Lot for any help
July 4, 2009 11:53:31 PM

Newegg has the cyberpower Pc-gamer extreme 2000 for $2389 which should work fine for you. I've never dealt with cyberpower, so I don't know anything about their customer service. But this system meets most of your specs. Be sure it comes with a free upgrade to windows 7 64 bit before ordering. You can upgrade the memory to 12gb easily; amazon.com has some ocz gold 1333 3x2gb ddr3 for $67 shipped. And 1 tb hardrives are going for around $75 and are fairly easy to install.
July 5, 2009 12:55:50 AM

I'm going to take your "I'm a newb" quite literally, and give advice based on that.