New computer Build - First Timer!

manuboy

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2009
Hey everyone, my computer finally failed due to that "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered" error in vista/over heating, unless there is a fix now in 2009 I need to stay away from Vista. While removing the case cover and looking inside/cleaning off some pieces..all of it seem easy enough to put together. I would like to build my first computer, something Ive always wanted to do.

Please be aware I havent entirely grasped this process from a technological standpoint.. I do understand that some components need a certain power supply to run. I have a few things picked out so far, and thats that (definitely nothing purchased yet). Im not set on these things i picked already, Like I said.. im a novice. I learn super fast and think I am ready to build my system.

----------
What I will be using the computer for:
* Intense graphic/3d work. Eg, photoshop, zbrush, blender, etc
* Audio work with cubase
* Second life (I dont know if this is classified as gaming. No overclocking)

Whats Important to me
* I already own a dell monitor but in the near future I would like to add a 2nd monitor so I can do some multi tasking across the 2 monitors...So I need a system that will support this.
* Want a fast computer.
* Sufficient cooling. I believe my last computer failed because it also was overheating all of the time according to Riva Tuner.
* Previous system was a dell XPS 410 from about 3-4 years ago, so Im wanting to upgrade performance.

-------
What Ive picked out so far:

* Case - RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP
$80

(comments on case- Does it have a port for firewire? Also, I understand only certain cases can house certain mother boards? May have to change my case choice depending....)

* Power Supply - (See above, the case says it comes with a 500w supply; doesnt say much about it though)
$0

* CPU - AMD Phenom 9850
$144

* Video card - Radeon HD4670
$80