Sign in with
Your question

$100 video card upgrade for a non-gamer?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 22, 2009 7:09:27 AM

I apologize if this has already been addressed somewhere (I couldn't find it), or if I'm posting this in the wrong forum (I chose what I thought was best). I'm a newbie.

I'm just a "regular" computer user; I'm not a gamer, I'm not into hardcore computer stuff (obviously), I don't do graphic design. I use the computer for Internet, word processing, DVD burning and video/movie viewing, uploading music and transferring it to my MP3 player (plus burning a CD here and there), as well as occasional (light) photo editing.

I was comparing the HP Pavilion dv7 (AMD Turion X2 RM-72 Dual-Core Mobile Processor) to the Dell Studio 17 (Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T6400) - both have 4 GB RAM and 320GB SATA hard drive. (Honestly, I don't know what other features are important anymore - if you need to know something, please ask me! I've been researching and researching and I feel like my head is going to explode.) Anyway, when comparing the two, I liked the HP b/c - and don't cringe too much here, computer people - the guy at Best Buy made it sound like watching videos/editing photos on the HP would be so much better. However, long story not-so-short, I decided I should probably go for the Dell Studio 17 b/c it sounds like it has more of what I'm looking for (better processor, better battery life, faster wireless connectivity).