Trying to Upgrade my HD.
I have a C:MASTER and F:SLAVE
Copy ALL From C: to F:
Change F: to C:
Then Boot from NEW BIG C:
Ron Remm

Last edited by a moderator:
Solution
The first think I'm going to suggest is that you remove your email address from your original post unless you really want to get an inordinate amount of spam.

Before doing anything outlined in this post, it is essential that you log onto your machine and defrag your hard drive a minimum of 10 (ten) times, or until you can run the disk defragmenter and have it finish immediately. Even your computer says your drive doesn't need to be defragmented, it does. If you don't do this, you're going to screw everything up. Everything.

This shouldn't be too difficult of a procedure. The easiest way to do this would be to use a Linux live CD (preferable Ubuntu) to copy the data from one drive to another using the "dd" command (don't worry...

PudgyChicken

Distinguished
May 17, 2010
The first think I'm going to suggest is that you remove your email address from your original post unless you really want to get an inordinate amount of spam.

Before doing anything outlined in this post, it is essential that you log onto your machine and defrag your hard drive a minimum of 10 (ten) times, or until you can run the disk defragmenter and have it finish immediately. Even your computer says your drive doesn't need to be defragmented, it does. If you don't do this, you're going to screw everything up. Everything.

This shouldn't be too difficult of a procedure. The easiest way to do this would be to use a Linux live CD (preferable Ubuntu) to copy the data from one drive to another using the "dd" command (don't worry, it's a lot easier than it sounds.)

The first step is to burn an Ubuntu live CD. You can find comprehensive instructions on how to do so at http://www.ubuntu.com/downloads