Upgarding my current setup

xiebelvoule

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2009
I don't know if this is the right forum or not, but here goes. I just got a new pc about 3 months ago, it was gift from a friend :D. Its an HP a6530f, he never opened the box, he's got a custom built rig so hes better off. Anyway, long story short I'd like to upgrade my pc to play some heavy duty games, Crysis, fallout 3, dawn of war II, Demigod, battlefield 2142, and some big upcoming MMOs, including Champions and Star Trek Online. I've never done an upgrade before, so as of late I've been doing some research. I'd like to upgrade my Graphics card and PSU, money is (almost) not an option.

:pfff:
-Current setup-
-4 Gig ddr2
-AMD Phenom 8450 Triple Core Processor 2.10 Ghz
-Windows Vista 64-bit operating system
-Asus M2N68-LA motherboard with integrated graphics using nVidia GeForce 6150SE
-One PCI Express x16 Expansion slot

I was looking at an Nvidia GTX285 series graphics card and a PSU suitiable to run it, however im not sure if A) my box will hold the card, B) if my box will hold the power supply, and c) what kind of cooling the card will need. :sweat:

Im open to advice, and specific cards and PSUs would be appreciated for ease of purchase.

Thank you all in advance. :hello:

rewindlabs

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2009
Your cpu is pretty crappy...don't expect to play crysis and gta very well with that thing....your going to want to see if you can overclock it :??:

Do you know what your monitors resolution is :sarcastic: you won't need a 285 if you have a low resolution monitor :sarcastic:

His CPU is a triple core, it should be fine if he OCs it. It is by no means crappy, even at stock speed. But if he wants high end gaming, then yes, he needs to OC it.

Try OCing it to 2.4 for starters, and then to 2.6 and 2.8. The best and safest OC would be if you don't have to raise the voltage and there is no significant temperature increae.