I7 950 OC and RAM speed

killafaz

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2010
Hi guys,

I'm new to the forum but read the site regularly. I have a quick question about my CPU multiplier in my OC and my RAM timings.

I've just built a new rig last week and got to work overclocking it (see sig for full rig). After playing around and tuning it a bit, I've got my CPU i7 950 to 4.2Ghz at 23x multiplier and 183 Bus speed. This causes my Corsair XMS3 RAM to run at about 1440Mhz if I recall correctly. I would like it to run at the rated 1600Mhz. My current timings are 8-8-8-24 with a voltage of 1.65 all set manually.

My question is, if I drop my multiplier and raise my bus speed to get higher speed from my RAM, will that negatively affect the performance of my PC/CPU, or does the higher multiplier not matter too much? I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to overclocking and only know the basics, so any help would be appreciated.

I'd like to point out my system is 100% stable with it's current settings and clock speeds. That includes 12 hours prime95, any game I can throw at it, 3D Mark Vantage etc. I just want to try and get the most out of my RAM with a little bit more work. I'm sure there's loads of things I could do do tune my PC up more, but I'm not that advanced. Just wanted to know if dropping the multiplier is a big deal to get a higher bus speed for faster RAM, or maybe should I drop the timings and keep the RAM at it's current speed? If you need more info please ask.

Thanks in advance.

sportsfanboy

Distinguished
You can drop the multiplier and raise the base clock. With a relatively high multiplier it shouldn't be too difficult to dial in. Obviously the higher the base clock gets the harder it will be to run stable.