Huge temp difference between cores

terrytpot

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2009
I can't think of anything other than a faulty processor which would give me a difference of 30 deg C between the two cores of the new E8200 cpu I've bought...unless you include the fact that this is my first build (I know,noob error?)
My system specs are:
Antec 300 case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 2.6GHz (Retail 775)
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS5
4GB Corsair Dominator 1066MHz DDR2
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4770
Zalman CNPS9500-AT
600W OCZ ModXStream Pro Modular PSU
1TB Western Digital Caviar Green 3.5" Hard Disk Drive
1 x LG GH22N40 DVDRW-RAM SATA

My first thought was that I hadn't properly secured the Zalman cooler to the cpu (I recalled that of the 2 screws securing it to its bracket,one was quite awkward to get to as the fans in the way and that screwhead was getting "chewed" up and I wasn't sure if I'd done it up tight enough..so, I removed the cooler and the as5 I'd used,cleaned it all up and reinstalled everything making sure this time that both screws were screwed in all the way)..no change to the temps though and I've used real temp,core temp and speedfan all of which report a similar difference between the 2 cores temps. I'm not absolutely panicking though as I cant believe that 2 cores which are so close together can have such a huge difference in temp (core 0 runs at 38ish while core1 runs at 68ish whilst idling...and no,its not ockd,thats at stock speeds!) Any suggestions as to the cause of this would be greatly appreciated. :)

jalpaugh1978

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2008
I, personally, dont care for the Zalman heatsinks. IMO, it's much easier to get good steady temps with and tower cooler w/a backplate like a Xigmatek 1283. Ran into the same problem on a friends pc with a Zalman 9500. Finally we just put my old Arctic freezer 7 Pro on it and all was good

kbits

Distinguished
Apr 9, 2007
Stress the system and watch both cores temperature.