Phenom II x4 925 2.8ghz

striker1553

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2010
Hi all, to start, I am COMPLETELY NEW at this. I've heard of OC'ing before and know that you can really improve performance if it's done right. I will get to my specs in a second, but my most important question is whether or not it is worth it to begin with.

I would love to see a boost in performance seeing as I use this pc to play more-demanding games like Crysis, GTAIV, BF:BC2, Far Cry 2, etc. Would love to play the new MoH soon, but that's besides the point. I also play some old games like, Counter-Strike: Source, Day of Defeat: Source, Battlefield 1942, etc. I also do sound-recording, studio-style work. I run Cakewalk Sonar 8, etc.

My complete specs are as follows:

ASUS M4N68T-M V2 mATX
AMD Phenom II 925 x4 2.8ghz (stock cooler)
XFX GeForce 9800GT 512mb GDDR3
Creative Sound Blaster X-FI Titanium HD
4gb GEIL Value Plus DDR3 1333 (CL 9-9-9-24)
Raidmax 630W PSU

Now, Crysis lags a bit with the loading screens. I've been told that it's because the 9800 that I have is only 512mb, and a 1gb would fix that issue. If this is the case, then I would see no reason to OC in the first place, other than just curiosity.

So, are the benefits really that noticeable? If so, what is a great place to start with my OC based on my specs? I know it's all trial and error, that no two CPU's are exactly the same, etc. I just want a good basis to go off of. I'm looking to go to maybe 3.2ghz, or at max 3.4ghz. Also, since I have everything crammed into an old Aspire X-Qpack shuttle-type case. Do they make coolers that are better than stock, but will also fit in this small case?

Also, this mobo came with some "easy" OC tools, I'm gonna assume those aren't worth the paper their printed on, right?

Thanks in advance,
MB

I would always advice people to overclock via the BIOS (Basic Input Output System) Rather than using software.