Advice for a total noob on 5.1 or 7.1 card

Hi

I don't know anything about sound cards, I am looking to buy a 5.1 or 7.1 sound system and have no idea what sound card i should get for my PC
Most of what I want to use it for is watching movies and maybe a very little bit of games
any advice?

Thanks
6 answers Last reply
More about advice total noob card
  1. How old is your PC, the built-in sound in most new-ish motherboards is good enough for 99% of the population.
  2. Devastator_uk said:
    How old is your PC, the built-in sound in most new-ish motherboards is good enough for 99% of the population.

i have a gigabyte p965-DS3, i am not sure if you consider that old or new
  3. 5.1 means 5 speakers one subwoofer 7.1 means 7 sepeakers, though i think ur pc has optical sound output whic is 7.1 out put, look on google imiges for optical sound output, its a lil black square socket, if u have that and a home cinema system with optical in it will work a treat in 7.1 or 5.1

perssonally unless ur a sound engineer or u really do some impressive stuff u have no need for a sound card.
  4. mildiner86 said:
    5.1 means 5 speakers one subwoofer 7.1 means 7 sepeakers, though i think ur pc has optical sound output whic is 7.1 out put, look on google imiges for optical sound output, its a lil black square socket, if u have that and a home cinema system with optical in it will work a treat in 7.1 or 5.1

perssonally unless ur a sound engineer or u really do some impressive stuff u have no need for a sound card.

I do have an optical output, I am not sure if it supports 7.1 though, do all optical outputs work properly with 7.1?
    while I am at it might as well ask, should I get a 5.1 or 7.1 system?
  5. 1 thing to consider here is space and wiring management. Is the room large enough? Will your speakers be able to be placed right, and wires hidden properly?