CPU Cooler weight issue and power supply

fastalan

Distinguished
Sep 20, 2010
Hi

I have a Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus CPU cooler sitting around gathering dust. Originally it was purchased for an AMD six core new built but the stock AMD fan seems to work just fine. I do have an older but still in use Pentium D computer on a micro ATX board in a spacious ATX case with an overheating problem (less so in winter but annoying during rest of the year, very very annoying during summer). We run a home business so none of the computers are for gaming.

My questions is if I install the cpu cooler on the pentium D machine:

1) Would the CPU cooler be too heavy for the micro ATX board with the tower in a vertical position?

2) The power supply on the Pentium D is only rated at 350W. Is that enough power to run the CPU cooler?

My goal is to extend the life of this unit and use it to replace another even older PC with sempron CPU as the order processing/shipping machine, but I need some temperature stability. When this PC overheats (temp passes 45c-50c, it slows down and often would hang), it's performance is actually worse during summer then the weaker PC with sempron CPU.

Thanks
Alan

Conumdrum

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
I have never seen a coolr too heavy for a mobo/CPU. Unless your shipping it.

350 watt CPU. Ohh soo weak these days. Really 350 watts?

A CPU cooler, meaning the big thing connected to the CPU with a fan to remove the heat from the CPU chip. It has a fan, or more than one to remove the heat rom the chip.

A CPU cooler is not an issue for you. It uses very few wattage for you to even worry about.

Your PSU size for any upgrades is dependant on the CPU load, not the silly minor fan you mention.

You need to learn about Power Supplies. READ>

Consider replacing the rear exhaust fan with one of substantially higher capacity (CFM). This will help the heat transfer situation. (Will increase the noise level too).