Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking Failure

Last response: in Overclocking
December 21, 2010 6:51:33 AM

Hi,
I am new to overclocking and read the guide to overclock a black edition processor. I have also asked before in the forums for help and i ended up turning off Cn'Q, Turbo, Core, and all of the auto overclock features. I put the multiplier up to 20 and started with my cpu voltage at 1.4. Every time I finish entering the settings I can boot into windows, pass 3DM06, and receive no errors or failed core during any duration of prime95, even on torture test up to 24 hours. The computer will work fine for 3 or 4 days under any usage but then will random restart and say overclock failure when the computer tries to boot again. I have messed around with raising and lowering the voltage of the cpu and pass all stress tests, but same results down the road. I dont want to keep running pointless stress tests all the time if its still gonna happen down the road. What am i doing wrong?? Thanks.

More about : overclocking failure

a c 102 à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
December 21, 2010 10:32:25 AM

Is it possible that the RAM frequency is higher than the manufacturer's specs as the result of overclocking? On my system, I set the RAM ratio to the LOWEST setting and then proceeded with OC. After I obtained a stable and desired level of OC, I re-adjusted the RAM ratio upwards and left it at a point where it is still below the manufacturer's rated frequency.

In fact, my 1600 MHz RAM is underclocked to 1452 MHz. No problem in doing this.

Also, somewhere I read that the voltages must be within 0.5V of each other. Don't recall details.
m
l
a c 103 à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
December 21, 2010 10:44:00 AM

Run Prime 95 Blend test if thats fine so is the RAM as you only adjusted the multiplier the RAM should not be changed from stock anyway. What processor do you have?
m
l
Related resources
December 21, 2010 3:26:42 PM