Tags:
  • Chipsets
  • BIOS
  • Computer
  • Gigabyte
  • Motherboards
Last response: in Motherboards
September 22, 2009 8:21:47 PM

I am trying desperately to update the bios on my gigabyte mobo. I am pretty computer savvy, and have been at this a long time, although some how this is my first time flashing a bios.

I have tried every thing. Gigabyte offers a utility to flash from windows called @bios. I have tied this multiple times under varying circumstances, and the end result is always either the computer freezing, or flashing a blue screen and then rebooting. Although it sounds bad, the computer is left un harmed when this happens.

I have also tried flashing via USB storage device, but every time I enter the qflash utility and connect the flash drive with the bios on it, it freezes before I can even select flash from drive. The only things I havent tried are flashing from a floppy ( I dont have one) and making a boot cd ( I cant find any solid instructions on how to do this)

I already restored the default bios setting, but this didnt help either.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I really would like to get this done. Here is some info on my computer.

Gigabyte ep43-ud3l MOBO

Intel Q8200 CPU Overclocked to 2.9ghz ( Restored default when attempting to flash)

4 Gigs GSKILL RAM

EVGA 9800GTX+ Superclocked edition graphics card

More about : gigabyte ep43 ud3l bios wont flash

a c 242 V Motherboard
September 22, 2009 8:51:26 PM

Have you contacted Gigabyte about your problem? Your motherboard could be defective.
September 22, 2009 9:05:22 PM

Yeah, I sent them a message and am waiting on reply, but if it is defective I dont think they will rma will they? I have had it for like 5 months or so now... :(  There MUST be a way. SOME ONE PLEASE HELP ME!!!! :) 
Related resources
a c 242 V Motherboard
September 22, 2009 9:27:01 PM