Forced to Face My Ignorance: Troubleshooting Help

yorker

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2009
Last weekend my video card decided to say "Goodbye, cruel world" and died on me. With a replacement card in the mail, I am currently still unsure as to why the card died. This post isn't about the card though, its about my power supply. Since I started learning computer hardware about six years ago I have remained woefully uninformed in the realm of power supplies, voltages, and amperes. However, my video card died for one of three reasons: Overheating, defective hardware, or inadequate/failing power source. I can test the first two on my own, but when it comes to ensuring that my power supply is not the culprit, I turn to you, Tom's Hardware forums.

My current system specs are a mishmash of hardware that has been upgraded one at a time over the years:
AMD Athlon X2 3200+
ASUS A8N32 SLI Deluxe mobo
3 gigs OCZ RAM (2x1gig, 2x512)
250 HDD @ 7200 RPM
(DEAD) eVGA 8800 GTS 320MB
(In the mail) eVGA GTX 275 896MB
Broadway Com Corp/Okia 600Watt PSU

The PSU itself is a few years old, and I can't find a specific model number on it to link you to a product page, but I pulled this off the PSU itself:
Model: Okia-600 (600W max)
+3.3|32A
+5|50A
+12|24A

-12|1.0A
-5|0.5A
+5SB|2.0A

I have a vague understanding of what these numbers mean, but I don't know if they are good or not. For the specific rails, are higher or lower amp numbers better? Do these raw numbers make the PSU a capable unit for my gaming needs, or have I been using inadequate hardware (possibly killing my video card because of it)?

Now, I assume that step one for troubleshooting a power supply is to check the rails with a voltmeter. I have yet to find my voltmeter, but once I do I'll test the lines and report back in this thread if necessary.