Sign in with
Your question

Best CPU Heatsink for Around 40$ (AM3)

Last response: in Overclocking
December 22, 2010 8:01:24 PM

CPU heatsinks are sort of hard to shop for :lol:  . I plan on unlocking (If possible) and OC'ing my Athlon II x3 445 to 3.8+GHz.

Ive been looking at these two:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I have a Cooler Master 430 Elite Case, and wasn't sure either of these would fit since i can't seem to find anything that tells what size of heatsink would fit...

I'm also a touch confuzled about dBA.... I want my case silent, and i was planning on filling it with these:

In the end i plan on having 4. They are rated at 21 dBA... So does that mean they add up to be 4x21=84dBA? Or are they still just 21dBA? Then you have the heatsink to worry about...

So:

1.) What is a good heatsink for less than 40$? (Needs to fit in a Cooler Master 430 Elite)
2.) How loud would 4 fans with each being 21dBA be (Plus CPU Heatsink)? Are there better 120mm fans (Quiet/Best Air Mover) for around the same price or cheaper?

My Rig:

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Cooler Master 430 Elite Case
MSI 870-G45 Motherboard
AMD Athlon II x3 445 3.1 Ghz CPU
MSI GTX 460 1GB Cyclone
G. Skill Ripjaw Series 4GB DDR3 1600 (2X2)
Corsair Builder Series 500 Watt PSU

More about : cpu heatsink am3

December 23, 2010 5:31:44 PM

I just saw Tom's 'roundup' of a few heatsinks and was interested in the Corsiar A50... Will be cheaper with a MIR, how does the A50 compare to the Shuriken?
Related resources
December 23, 2010 5:35:00 PM

Which one? The Corsair or the Scythe?

(Edit) I also did some digging and saw that my case says "CPU cooler not to exceed 163mm"...
December 23, 2010 7:03:30 PM

It looks really wide... Have you had any problems with it getting in the way of RAM slots or the northbridge (My northbridge seems to be a little high...)?
a c 111 à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
December 23, 2010 8:51:59 PM

Cooler Master Hyper 212+ $30