Help in OCing e8400

supergod

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2008
Hello,
I'm looking to overclock my cpu it's an intel e8400 core 2 duo. i looked at the forums and i think i kind of understand some of the things but i've never done this sort of thing before and i would just like more step by step process rather than the piece meal that i currently have in my head. the following are my components

CPU INTEL|C2D E8400 3G 775 45N R - Retail

CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

PSU ANTEC|TP3-650 RT

video card visiontek 6870 1gb (if that matters)

motherboard: MB MSI P43 NEO3-F 775 RT

I have put a new cooler on my CPU and it runs at about 45 degrees celcius under stress give or take a few degrees.

the new fan is: PUCOOL|ARCTIC FREEZER 7 PRO REV.2

If possible i would like to overclock to 4.0ghz but less is fine and i'd rather not overclock my ram (unless it's easy and someone doesn't mind explaining)

thank you in advance.

55Range

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2010

Oh come- maybe for the low ends one- But the goods one do Work - and well-
Btw- Not nice posting this for the Op with his msi board-

@ Op
try this http://www.gamespot.com/pages/forums/show_msgs.php?topic_id=26401674
If you are not sure, ask before changing settings- Also try this for basics/and details
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1804
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,2845,2368074,00.asp

aberchonbie

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2008
lol @apache_lives! you just hated on msi really blatantly right there! HAHAHA!

anyways, you should hit 3.6 relatively easily by bumping the FSB to 400 and setting your ram mutliplier to 1:1 so that your ram runs at "800" speeds.

should need little to no extra vcore to make it stable. you should not leave vcore on auto since motherboards tend to overcompensate. hope this helps!

supergod

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2008