Sign in with
Your question

Help from experts please. workstation for cs4

Last response: in Systems
April 7, 2009 2:16:08 PM

I am building my first computer for after effects, premiere and photoshop cs4 because my old system just could not handle the demands. I am also into a little gaming, but prefer the to dedicate this system just to media production.

I have my mind set on the new intel i7 chip which i will be wanting to o/c. I am relatively flexible when it comes to price as i am buying the system bit by bit so to speak.

i ve already picked up some second hand components for my workstation. firstly, i have the antec 1200 case and secondly i have the gtx 295 video card.

My next purchase will be the psu and the motherboard.

I have four concerns. firstly is compatibility among all the system parts. for example the psu is compatible with the case and the video card and motherboard.

secondly, is i am new to o/c and i want a board which is relatively straight forward and easy to use. I must confess the motherboard is something i really dont understand, after searching reading all sorts of forums and documents. i still have no idea or interest why asus, etc has so many different models with all these secret code names.

in addition i am wanting to install 12 gb of ram, cs4 loves ram.

finally i want a psu which is cheap and kind of future proofish and of course reliable.
April 7, 2009 2:41:28 PM

LOL, you're into a little gaming so you bought a GTX 295. :) 

I'd recommend a Corsair 750TX PSU for that setup. It will work fine with that case and video card. Also get a Xigmatek Dark Knight cooler for overclocking.

I like the Asus P6T Deluxe v2 motherboard. Good overclocker, lots of features, good layout.
April 7, 2009 2:42:56 PM

I'm assuming that you're not going to add a second GTX 295 later. For one GTX 295, the Corsair 750TX will do just fine.

However, if you think you will add a second card at some point, then get a Corsair 1000W PSU.
Related resources