Intel speedstep and overclocking

finesse_57

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2010
Hello,
I'm a complete novice to hardware and am just about to build my first PC I have already ordered the parts Gigabyte GA H55M UD2H
Intel i3 550 - stock cooler
Corsair 4GB 1333MHz CL9 DDR3
Corsair CX430
WD Caviar Black 500gb (from my old pc)
Radeon HD4350 GPU
Akasa case fans in NZXT Gamma case
A second monitor will come when funds allow .
This rig is not for any games except maybe chess and checkers, this is for running math based programs and general browsing, moveies and music and programming where compiling speed is vital hence my desire to OC. A lot of time is spent in the coding not intensive though I may have Gomplayer playing a movie or music and bloomberg type streamed tv. I think maybe ignorantly that OC would not be useful except for when I compile (very often while bug fixing). So can I benifit from Speedstep while increasing FSB? or is it like the turbo feature on i5s where from reading other posts, must be switched off. A hot CPU slow down is very noticable on compiling which is why I hope speedstep would keep the CPU cool in readyness. Any help or redirection is of course appreciated.
Nick

I think most of us turn SpeedStep off before overclocking.

I turn it off, get my settings, and turn it back on again. That way the systems loaf along at reduced power and thermal load until I need the performance.

I am still struggling along with Core2 systems, but from what I understand about the i3's and i5's, you want to either use the Turbo feature ofr the overclock, but not both.

finesse_57

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2010
Thanks for the quick answer, jsc.