Sign in with
Your question
Solved

GTX 580 & I7 920 3.35ghz Will this bottleneck?

Last response: in Overclocking
December 28, 2010 12:36:28 PM

Hey all,
I am shortly receiving a gtx 580 and I want to make sure my CPU is set up in a way to not limit this GPU. I currently have my bios set to enable "OC Dummy" and have turned on Turbo mode. In my bios it says I'm around 3.35, however, windows 7 says I'm at 3.19 (what the bios says before I turn on turbo mode. I guess my first question is should I believe the number listed in the bios or the number listed under "properties" of the computer. And my 2nd question would be if I'm OK with my current overclock or if I should try and push it further. I'm basically a complete newbie to overclocking and not very comfortable with it. I've followed some guides and every time I tried to test the overclock with Prime it's gone to that blue screen. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

Best solution

December 28, 2010 3:05:33 PM

Hey there and welcome to the forums!

The difference in GHz displayed in BIOS and in "Windows" is a result of the "Turbo Mode" u have enabled. Turbo Mode means u've activated (more like enabled) the x21 multiplier. Windows displays the frequencies without the x21 multiplier (it only displays frequencies using up to x20 multiplier).

A fairly simple way to test this is to divide 3.35GHz by x21, then 3.19 GHz by x20 and compare the results (which should be your current BCLK - 160 BCLK).

U dont really need to OC your CPU for a single GTX 580 but if u really want to have nothing to worry about, then raise the frequency to ~3.3GHz.

Also, please provide us with your current specs in order to get a better understanding of your machine.
December 28, 2010 3:40:47 PM

sharr said:
Hey there and welcome to the forums!