Octo-Core Xeon (Nehalem-EX, Beckton) Info?

Mephistopheles

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2003
I'm currently gathering info on the new Xeon "Nehalem-EX", aka Beckton. I'm a physicist and hardware enthusiast, and I have acted as kind of an "IT Consultant" on many occasions. I know that a few professors in our institute are very interested in really buying these 32-CPU or 64-CPU systems... Which is why I started doing research about it. Any further info you guys have would be greatly appreciated!

Currently, we know that the next Xeon MPs will be eight- (or octo-) core, featuring 2.3 billion transitors, 24MB cache, and Hyperthreading, allowing each physical core to process two threads at once. Anandtech has talked about Nehalem-EX here, and the fact that there is a fast, serial point-to-point link between the processors will make a huge difference. For instance, the 4-socket platform will be:

4socket.jpg

Each processor is connected to all other processors with a dedicated link in this configuration. But more importantly, the QPI links will make 8-socket systems possible without 3rd-party chipsets, as shown in:

8socket.jpg

Alternatively, you can imagine this configuration more easily in terms of CPU connections if you think of it as a cube:

nehalemexideal.jpg

Now, in principle, Hypertransport also makes this possible in Opterons, but not many consumer-level implementations exist. Tyan has implemented an 8-socket system, but its CPU connection topology was less than ideal (check this, it even supports six-cores for an 8S6C = 48CPU system! it's the Thunder n4250QE S4985-SI). The usual suspects, like HP and Sun, might have 8-socket systems available, but I wanted to know if there was a way to build an 8S8C system at the consumer level, customizing it.