Asrock extrme bios locking up and resetting! HELP!

pandaboy99

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2009
Hey guys, I'm a fairly newbie system builder, but have a fairly good grasp on the basics. I recently picked up the following parts for a build:

asrock x58 extreme mobo
intel i7 920 (2.66) (LGA1366)
Radeon x800
3x OCZ 3GB DDR3 1066 RAM(240pin, PC3-1600)
Corsair PSU 750W
Caviar green 2 tb SATA HD
Sony optiarc DVD/CD SATA drive

The build went off pretty smoothly, or so I thought. got everything hooked into my new case, first time I've ever mounted my own MB, usually get a barebones system to start with; The only thing I noticed was strange during the build itself was the North Bridge has two black pins on springs that hold it down, and one seems to have broken off during shipping. I found it in the box and returned it to its place.

Boot it all up for the first time, bios shows up just fine, I hit F2 to boot into bios, don't see any problems, all the hardware it shows looks appropriate. Save the settings and restart, booting to my windows disk. About 2-4min into the install it restarts several times in decreasing intervals. I spend a little while discouraged about this. During this time, if it gets all the way to windows install, the error on the Debug when it crashes is "68"

It crashes after a min or two even in I just sit in bios, Debug saying "68" (which is the "bios executed" display)

::EDIT::

Also, occasionally when it crashes(read: freezes for about 30-90sec, then reboots) it throws the "68" error to the debug

i know its not the RAM because i tested each individually? so can anyone help!? thanks!

rand_79

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2009
are you running it at stock settings or OC/putting the ram to 1600 etc?

try reload bios defaults

there are a multiple of things it could be you need to start working on narrowing it down. Nothing stands out from what you said.