Sign in with
Your question
Closed

CrossfireX - Three Monitors, please help!

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 30, 2009 4:55:57 PM

Hey guys, I'm needing your expert advice on this one. I'm new to Crossfire technology so I'm not sure exactly what I need to do. I have three monitors, two of them are 24" and the 3rd one is a 27" in the middle. I currently have the EVGA Classified mobo with a 4870x2 card. I'd like to be able to run Crossfire, but can I run three monitors with two cards? Or would I need to have three cards?

I'm still a little hazy as to what crossfireX does exactly. Does it let you span the game over all screens? I know each game would have to support this obviously, but I just want to plan ahead. Also, when I purchased the 4870x2, it only came with a crossfire connector to connect another card... how do you connect a third one if you had to?

Sorry to be such a noob guys, I'm just really new and before spending an extra $1000 in graphics cards I want to be sure. Thanks so much!

More about : crossfirex monitors

a b C Monitor
May 2, 2009 11:20:11 PM

I run a 3 monitor setup using 2 4850's. I'll try to answer all your questions.

You can run 3 monitors with 2 cards, however when running crossfire only the monitors connected on the primary card will function. This is why for my setup I normally have crossfire disabled. If I run a game that needs the power of crossfiring then its simple to disable my second and third display and enable it.

Crossfire basically boosts your graphics card performance. It's a way of using 2 graphics cards to do the graphical processing work. The second card in a crossfire configuration is basically controlled by the first card. It does not allow you to span games across multiple screens. For spanning games google SoftH. Great program and with your setup you will love it.