Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Building first computer with Intel SSD, assembled, now what?

Last response: in Storage
November 12, 2010 6:23:23 AM

Before I do something stupid, need to have a couple questions answered. I know very little about building computers, and this is my first build. I bought an 80gb Intel ssd and 1TB hard drive for data. I have an Asus p55e-pro motherboard, HAF 922 case, and an i5-760. I also bought a dvd rw and blu ray drive.

It's all plugged in and set for the most part. But I'm wondering about the order of the SATA connections. Theres SATA1-6 connections, 2 SATA 6 bg/s connections, and a SATA E1 (??). I'm guessing SSD goes into SATA 1, but I'm wondering about the remainder (hard drive, dvd, blu ray, and front panel SATA). And just making sure the SSD goes into the SATA 1, not the SATA 6 gb/s?

So once that is figured out, is there a good guide on here/online what to do compared with a normal hdd. Should I just connect the SSD for now, and worry about he hdd later once I have windows 7 installed? I'm planning on running the OS on the SSD, and data on the other hdd. Necessary steps so I don't screw anything up?

Thanks.
a c 107 G Storage
November 12, 2010 6:29:17 AM

ONLY plug in the SSD ( and optical of course) while you install Windows then after that is successful plug in your backup drive.

You may want to update drive firmware as well before using it. Here is a good place to start.

http://www.intel.com/design/flash/nand/mainstream/index...
November 12, 2010 7:35:57 AM

anort3 said:
ONLY plug in the SSD ( and optical of course) while you install Windows then after that is successful plug in your backup drive.

You may want to update drive firmware as well before using it. Here is a good place to start.

http://www.intel.com/design/flash/nand/mainstream/index...

I assume this means update the firmware after I install windows 7?