Sign in with
Your question

I give up, I've tried every solution, need your help!

Last response: in Systems
April 10, 2009 5:56:11 PM

Hello everyone, this is my first time here. I've been battling my new PC for 3 months now. I'll try to be descriptive as possible.

The initial problem was my PC beeped 2 short followed by 15 louder and longer beeps. I couldn't find the beep code anywhere on the net.

The PC worked perfectly for a little over a month ..then one day it just completely powered down like I held in the power switch. I turned it back on and it was fine. That night I put it in sleep mode when I went to bed (as I always do) ..the next morning I tried to wake it up but it didn't respond. I shut it off with the power button and turned it back on, everything turned on inside the case ..perfectly. Problem was it didn't give me a display at all and the mouse and keyboard didn't respond either, they weren't recognized at all. It had trouble booting before but I could always make it boot by pushing the restart button ..this time the restart button had no effect at all.

I tried to fix it for almost 2 weeks like this, at first I suspected the Motherboard so I bought a new Motherboard ..hooked it all back up and it did the same exact thing, my jaw dropped to the floor. 2 short beeps followed by 15 long louder beeps. Both Motherboards were doing the same exact thing.

I tested the memory, power supply, hard drive, video card ..the only thing I was unable to test was the CPU chip. At that point I thought for sure it had to be the CPU chip so I RMA'ed it to AMD ..got their replacement in the mail ..installed it ..turned it on aaand 2 short beeps followed by 15 longer louder beeps!!!??? At this point I was thinking about buying a sledge hammer. I'm on that very PC right now, it's running perfectly just as it did before, I suspect it will die again in about a month.