Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Noob To OCing!

Last response: in Overclocking
January 3, 2011 7:30:26 PM

Hello, I only have a few other threads on this website, and so far I have gotten quite a bit of help and I love it here! Haha but on topic, I am a newbie to overclocking because I have been stuck on Macs and a not-so-good Dell laptop. I have recently built my own system and I am loving the speed and such but there are times where I want better speed such as when I want to render out animations, play some WoW, and have other programs up on my monitors but, I want to do it all at a quick rate. I have the tools to overclock my video card and processor because they game with the software. I am new to it all though but I have MANY fans, most likely more than I will be needing with my normal specs so I figured why not step it up... So what is my ideal speed and should I be OCing my video card too? Should I upgrade my cooling? Should I stay the same?

ASUS Sabertooth X58 Motherboard - LGA 1366, Intel X58, SLI Ready, CrossFireX Ready, Triple Channel DDR3 support, SATA 6GB/s, USB 3.0

Corsair CMP12GX3M3A1600C9 Dominator 12GB PC12800 Triple Channel RAM - 1600MHz, 3x4096MB, 9-9-9-24, Unbuffered, Non-ECC

EVGA 01G-P3-1373-AR GeForce GTX 460 SuperClocked Video Card - 1024MB GDDR5, PCI-Express 2.0, Dual DVI, Mini HDMI, SLI, DirectX 11

Intel Core i7 950 Processor BX80601950 - 3.06GHz, 8MB L3 Cache, 4.8GT/s QPI, HyperThreading, Quad Core, Bloomfield, LGA 1366, Retail, Fan (No thermal paste! Did not come with any but it may have been on the bottom of the fan that touches the processor because there was a paste there I believe)

Ultra X4 750-Watt Modular Power Supply - 135mm Fan, ATX, Lifetime Warranty w/ Registration, 80+ Bronze, NVIDIA SLI & ATI Crossfire Certifications, Vibration Dampener Included

Dual-RAM fan over the RAM and a processor fan of course. Also, six fans around the case. Thanks!

More about : noob ocing

January 3, 2011 9:28:10 PM