Sign in with
Your question

HELP!!!!!! VERY confused about processors

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
July 17, 2009 3:51:35 PM

hi, i'm a gamer and i'm looking for greater performance in my games. I'm going to upgrade my core 2 duo 2.2 GHz. Now i have two choices: the core 2 quad 2.33 GHz, and core 2 duo 3.0 GHz.... i'm going nuts!!!! :pt1cable:  which one should i upgrade to? I read in lots of other sites that the four cores of C2Q aren't even used most of the time, mostly 2 cores.... if thats the case then C2D is certainly the better option as it has higher clock speeds, but is it the case? i have a friend who got a diploma in computer hardwares, says C2Q is newer technology, so the C2Q 2.33 is way faster than my 2.2 GHz duo, and since i'm upgrading for gaming, he says within few years most games will support four cores. So i wanna know which processor would be the better choice? Plz help

More about : confused processors

July 17, 2009 4:13:38 PM

Your friend is right, newer, modern games have support for quad cores, I think quad cores are very useful, more useful than duals as you can do like I normally say malware scans and other stuff at the same time(when there's a game uncapable of using all four cores ;)  )
I say go quad core ;) 
Though I think you will have to overclock those bitches, they seem to run a little bit slow for newer games ;) 
July 17, 2009 4:28:34 PM

The C2D @ 3.0 Ghz would be better if you don't overclock, but you can get that C2Q 2.33 Ghz to 3.0 Ghz easily.
July 17, 2009 4:52:28 PM

But if i overclock, wont it take up more power? if i'm right, q8200 uses around 100W, so if i overclock, isnt it going to use more? and if i undervolt it, it'l be more unstable, if it doesnt get fried, right? i have a 750W delta psu, powering 2 HDDs, 1 gtx 260, 3 rams, a 180mm fan,140mm,90mm fan; will it be enough? and there'l be more heat then? i'l really be glad if i get some help with this
July 17, 2009 5:20:44 PM