Sign in with
Your question

How dangerous is (up)setting vdroop

Last response: in Overclocking
January 7, 2011 10:59:37 AM

I don't want to spoil my new PC(my first build ever). But it appears that it is the only way I can achieve any type of overclock is to go against intel's vdroop recommendation setting. Is there a safer (relatively) way? If I try to increase Bclk even by 7 Mhz I get a failed boot not getting past the BIOS stage. Any advice is appreciated. Though if you have experience of Gigabyte H55M-UD2H with an i3-550 - 3.2Ghz, that would be excellent on settings advice, I am very new to this, so please not to technical unless necessary to the point. Some of the posts I have read may as well be rocket science at my current level of understanding.
I really want to get the CPU to 3.6Ghz via 150MHz Bclk.
Thanks, Nick
January 7, 2011 1:05:38 PM

I thought simply adjusting one variable was too easy. I'll give it a try.
Thanks for the direction.
January 7, 2011 3:27:48 PM

OK. After a bit of tinkering I've got the Bclk to 142 giving 3.4Ghz moved the memory multiplier down to 8 from 10 giving 8,8,8-21 from 9,9,9-24 vcore on auto appears to be knocking out 1.2v. Not really familiar enough with my new PC to be able to notice a difference. No doubt I'll be coming back for some more help soon.
Nick
Related resources
a b à CPUs
a c 100 K Overclocking
January 7, 2011 4:17:50 PM

You seem to need a bit of help with what you're doing... First off, your RAM should have come with some recommended timings. Most likey 1333mhz, CL8 or so, maybe 1600mhz CL8 or 9... For any RAM, there's a maximum speed they will run at any given latency.

As you now know, upping the base clock is going to modify the RAM speed. Ideal target RAM speeds are going to be around 1400mhz, 1600mhz, and 1800mhz depending on what you bought. 1333 is a JEDEC spec but I find you can generally run the same timings at 1400.