Risks of overclocking and how to approach it?

rmitchell93

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2010
Hello all. I am looking to over clock both my CPU (AMD Athlon X4 630 propus) and FSB (motherboard is MSI 870a-G54)

This computer is my first build so I am completely new to over clocking and want to avoid damaging my components. I have a 550W power supply, which I reckon is enough for SOME overclocking.

So that brings me to my main two questions:

1) What are the biggest risks involved with overclocking and how do I avoid them?

2) My motherboard has overclocking options built into its BIOS. Do I need to manually change the voltages?

thanks in advance for any answers

1 biggest rick is frying your CPU &/or mobo to avoid this keep an eye on the temps (keep under 55C at full load if you can 60C is just OK) and keep the core voltage below 1.5V
2 Its best not to leave them on auto (the core voltage anyway) and set the RAM voltage to what the manufacturer recommends.

brianthesnail

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2007
hi mate
overclocking isnt a science.. its a art and the trick is to find whats best for your cpu and motherboard... for example were one core i7 end user will oc his cpu to 4ghz the next guy with the same cpu may only reach 3.5ghz... this can be due to the motherboard he,s using or even the memory... so this is why you need to start from scratch... just because your mate down the road with a similar cpu is hitting 3.5ghz by only changing the front side bus you may need to increase the cpu voltage a little bit
RISKS :