Overclockable budget machine (pls help!)

jesusjones

Distinguished
Apr 15, 2009
Hey all.

I'm trying to put together a decent gaming system on a damn tight budget. but i also want to start learning about overclocking, so i need components that are conducive to that kinda thing.

I'm going to start buying bits for it tomorrow, hopefully have it built by monday at the latest.

this machine will be mostly for gaming, with a bit of photoshop and 3d work. budget is only about 550USD, but ive got an old moniter and HD.

I'm a bit of a noob, but i have learnt alot the in past couple of days (thanks to google sending me here on most of my queries). you seem like a helpful bunch, so hopefully you can point out my mistakes, or at least point me in the right direction.

anyway all i've really decided on is a Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3LR mobo ($126USD), with a e8400 cpu ($185USD).

but when i got to choosing some RAM, it seems that DDR3 has almost no advantage over DDR2, and i would be better off sinking the money into a better processor. is this true? and if so, can anyone recommend a comparable DDR2 mobo?

if i stick with that mobo, ill probably go with Corsair 6GB "For X58 MB/i7 Core" (hmmmmm?) ($112USD)

although apparently DDR3 sticks produce less heat (and they run at a higher stock MHz). i donno, really need some help with that one.

i'm going to stick with my old 80gig hardrive and cathode ray monitor until i get some more cash (i am computerless atm, need to get something going before i shrivel up and die).

so that just leaves the videocard, and about $144USD.

i am thinking "Gigabyte GF9800GT 512MB" should be nice. (still under investigation)

so basically

MOBO.... Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3LR ($126USD)
CPU.... e8400 ($185USD)
GPU... GF9800GT 512MB ($140USD)
RAM.... Corsair 6GB ($112USD)

total $563USD +my old maxtor 3.5series 80gig HD, and huge crt (with one of the plug pins missing :??: - doesnt seem to affect it)