Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking for the first time, looking for advice.

Last response: in Overclocking
January 12, 2011 2:18:24 PM

Hello everyone, I've been around on Tom's hardware before, my current machine was built using input from the people here, and I once again turn to you for advice, this time for something that I have no experience and limited knowledge in, overclocking. I have been thinking about overclocking for a while, but I doubt I have the cooling I need for it, so I've held off. Currently I have an AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition processor and a HIS iCooler V Turbo H583FNT1GDG Radeon HD 5830 on a GIGABYTE GA-790XTA-UD4 motherboard, all wrapped up in my old Antec 900 case with a OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI 700W power supply. All the fans are the ones that came with the case and with the CPU.

My main question is what people suggest for good fans for overclocking, and any advice on software or the like is also appreciated. I'm not totally against liquid cooling, but this is my gaming computer and it gets moved around a lot for LANs and such, so I'm hesitant to use it because I'm worried all that moving around could cause leaks. Also don't want something too loud, because I don't want to annoy my roomate too much with the sound of a pump running constantly. Thank you for reading, and thank you in advance for any advice you can give
a c 239 K Overclocking
January 13, 2011 7:27:43 AM

u need good & silent CPU cooler :
- scythe Kabuto good cooler for AMD CPU.
- Scythe Mugen 2 works great with the 965. It's very silent
+ Thermal Paste AS5

Related resources
January 13, 2011 3:50:19 PM

Everything depends on your budget!

If you really wan't a silent beast I would recommend the Noctua NH-D14 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...)

This has only got great reviews and is silent as a mouse!