What would be the optimal liquid cooling system for my rig ?

nscienergy

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2011
I own Cooler Master V6 cpu cooler and so far its been doing crappy job, reinstalled it over and over again using line method, pea method, whatsoever. At stock settings, my i7 930 idles at 45degC , Prime95 max load temp of 70sh-deg C With the condition like this cant overclock my i7 930 to 4.0ghz and over

Decided to go with liquid cooling, budget range of 200~300 dollars US. What would be the optimal water cooling system for my rig ?
I am new to water cooling, but I know how to install all its components.

oh yeah, and I want internal water cooling

System Specs:
cpu: intel i7 930
motherboard: gigabyte ga-x58a-ud3r
ram : 6gb g.skill 1600mhz ddr3 trip-channel
power supply: 550w atx standard psu
case: cooler master haf 922 (mid tower case,supports
water cooling)

d0gr0ck

Distinguished
Apr 6, 2009
First of all make sure you've educated yourself fully about what you're stepping into. Make sure you've actually got everything planned out for your specific scenario or else you my find things getting expensive quickly.
Here
There
And More

For cooling the i7 CPUs a 120x3 rad is generally recommended, especially when overclocking. I'm not entirley sure, but it looks like you can hang a triple radiator from the top of the case similar to the HAF 932. The XSPC Rasa 750 kit is an attractive kickstart to watercooling. However, do not be afraid to part out your own system if you are looking for specific parts or functionality.

Nothing wrong with a cm v6 cooler.
liquid cooling will not necessarily be better.

What vga card do you have? Often cards with proprietary coolers do a good job of cooling the gpu, but dump the heat back in the case and hurt the cpu.

If you are prepared to spend $ 300 on liquid cooling, I suggest you buy a 2500K and a new P67 motherboard instead. Sell the 930 and mobo to amortize the cost.