Recommended card for my cpu: 350W

mbm

Distinguished
May 8, 2009
i know this may seem like a very easy question to some of you, but not to me (i'm not very tech savvy). the footage from my Sony HD EX1(1080P HQ) Camera looks like crap on my computer's LCD monitor. is doesn't matter if i'm viewing it in the Sony Clip Browser or in Adobe Premiere Pro. it just looks awful. why is this? here's my computer specs if it helps decipher or explain the reasoning:

Dell Inspiron 530 Intel Core2 Quad processor Q6600 @ 2.4 Ghz 8mb cache
3GB DDR2 SDRAM at 800Mhz
128MB ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro PCI Express x16
22" Flat Panel 1680x1050 (i know its smaller then 1080P, but 720P footage looks bad too)

ok, i'm pretty sure its the video card. can someone recommend a video card can handle playing 1920x1080 video and make it look like its actually HD? i also work with Adobe CS3, soon to upgrade to CS4. i hear the memory is important, ie: 512MB. i think the interface is key as well, ie: PCI Express x16 or x16 2.0.

I only have 350W of power supply.

thanks in advance.

Solution
I suggest you try to isolate the problem before starting to replace things like video card or monitor. It would be a shame to replace one or both and learn the problem does not improve. Might even (although less likely) be a problem with that particular camera and how it interfaces with your particular other system components or with the monitor cable.

What kind of monitor do you have now? Does it look ok for still photographs - meet your needs visually? What about if you run DVD movies? Can you get another monitor to plug in and see if it changes anything? If considering a monitor change when picture quality is important, you need to understand the difference in quality for different flat panel types - as different panels make a...