Sign in with
Your question

XPS400 Won't Recognize (2)Hard drive

Last response: in Storage
November 25, 2010 12:54:52 AM

Hello, I am just getting into the computer world I am somewhat capable of doing what I can. But I need help with a second hard drive.

I have a XPS400 Pentium D 3.20Ghz Running with windows 7. I have two hard drives in it and today I just looked in my computer and looked at my storage and found out I only have 12.3 G's left. (Fairly small hard drive). Then I noticed I don't have my second 160Gb hard drive next to it. I went into bios and it said that Drive 0 was occupied by my main hard drive. and Drive 2 was occupied by my second hard drive. I am a bit stumped here and I would like some help. If anyone can please help me in any way. I neeed the second hard drive for some gaming.

Sincerely,
MasterVega
November 25, 2010 5:07:04 PM

Thanks so much I will post back if this doesn't work. I am on a friends computer right this moment.

-Mastervega
November 25, 2010 10:24:21 PM

Alrighty, this is not working for me. My computer has two 160 GB hard drives one is shown up as Disk0.
It is split into drive (C:\) and Drive (D:\) and 40GB is for back up (D:\) and 110Gb for (C:\).
And My second hard drive is yet to show up YET AGAIN. Either can you tell me how to fix this or make that back on my first hard drive all go to Drive C:\

This is really pissing me off...
-MasterVega
Related resources
November 25, 2010 10:59:44 PM

It doesn't show my second HDD. It shows One HDD with it separated into two. But in bios it shows that it has 2 hard drives that it detects
I dind't really understand what you said in the last post so I just explained what I could.

-MasterVega
November 25, 2010 11:18:16 PM

Alright This is all from the DirectX Diagnostic Tool.

Computer Model: Dell XPS 400

System Model: Dell DXP051

Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.20 GHz. (2 CPUs)

2GB RAM (4 512MB DDR2 Sticks)

Two 160 GB HDD's

ATI Radeon 4850 512MB

Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit