Sign in with
Your question

2ND HDD Isn't Recognized

Last response: in Storage
November 26, 2010 12:03:33 AM

Hello, I am just getting into the computer world I am somewhat capable of doing what I can. But I need help with a second hard drive.

I have two hard drives in it and today I just looked in my computer and looked at my storage and found out I only have 12.3 G's left. (Fairly small hard drive). Then I noticed I don't have my second 160Gb hard drive next to it. I went into bios and it said that Drive 0 was occupied by my main hard drive. and Drive 2 was occupied by my second hard drive. I am a bit stumped here and I would like some help. If anyone can please help me in any way. I neeed the second hard drive for some gaming.

Computer spec's.Alright This is all from the DirectX Diagnostic Tool.

Computer Model: Dell XPS 400

System Model: Dell DXP051

Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.20 GHz. (2 CPUs)

2GB RAM (4 512MB DDR2 Sticks)

Two 160 GB HDD's

ATI Radeon 4850 512MB

Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit

If you need anything else let me know.

-MasterVega

Sincerely,
MasterVega

More about : 2nd hdd recognized

a b G Storage
November 26, 2010 12:21:46 AM

Go to control panel> administrative tools> computer management> storage> disk management and see if the drive is showing there.
If can be seen there, is it formatted, partitioned, and the partition(s) set to "active", and this is where you also assign a drive letter. If this has not been done, the drive will not show up as a usable drive in Windows.
m
l
November 26, 2010 12:31:35 AM

It is not shown up I have already tried diskmgmt it just doesnt show up.... But it shows up in the BIOS menu.

Any help?

-Mastervega
m
l
Related resources
a c 357 G Storage
November 26, 2010 1:04:22 AM