VMware ESX/Storage Server build...

madnj

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2008
Hi,
I'm kicking around the idea of building a server to act as a home storage server and a VMWare ESX server to provide me the capability of standing up VMs quickly and easily to be able to test/work with many different OSs and configurations. I work as a Senior level SE for an IT outsourcing group, so I'd like the ability to build/test various different configurations in a single physical system.

I'd also like to be able to use this system as my storage server, so I'm looking at RAID 5 with 4 1TB drives. I'd look to stand up a VM as a file server to which I'd allocate a lot of disk space and use that for media storage.

I'm also looking to keep the server footprint small (Medium ATX tower, not full).

The issue I am running into is that VMWare ESX server is picky about its Hardware Compatibility List, and I'm not entirely sure what challenges I might run into. I'd like to nail down my configuration before ordering.

Here's what I'm thinking:

1 x ASUS Z8NA-D6C Dual LGA 1366 Intel 5500 ATX Server Motherboard - Retail - $259.99

2 x Intel Xeon E5520 Nehalem 2.26GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 80W Quad-Core Server Processor - Retail - $379.99 x 2=$759.98

3 x Kingston 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Registered DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Server Memory Model KVR1066D3S4R7SK2/4GI - Retail - $129.99 x 3=$389.97

4 x Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive - OEM - $109.99 x 4 = $439.96

1 x Adaptec 2258100-R PCI Express SATA / SAS 5405 Kit Controller Card RAID levels 0, 1, 1E, 5, 5EE, 6, 10, 50, 60, JBOD - Retail - $379.99

1 x Athena Power BP-SAC3141B HDD internal backplane - Retail - $91.99

1 x COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black SECC/ ABS ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail - $79.99

Subtotal - $2401.87